Dewey Beach Town Election Results Are In!


The polls closed at 6 p.m. in Dewey Beach, but it was more than 45 minutes before the results of today’s Town Commissioner’s race were officially released!  The official results have newcomers T.J. John E. Redefer III as the top vote-getter with 417 followed by Paul Bauer with 411.  Incumbent-Mayor Dale H. Cooke had the next highest votes with 399.  They will serve two-year terms on the soon-to-be all-male town council.

Image courtesy WGMD/Alan Henney

Here are the vote totals for the five candidates who had filed for the three seats up for grabs. Beverly Corelle, from the Dewey Beach Board of Elections, read the results at 6:47 p.m.

Image courtesy WGMD/Alan Henney

417 – T.J. John E. Redefer III (Resident)
411 – Paul Bauer (Non-resident)
399 – Dale H. Cooke (Resident)
359 – Diane Hanson (Resident)
309 – Jill Compello (Non-resident)

Images courtesy of the candidates.