Delaware aims to crack down untaxed cigarette sales

0
877

In one of the first actions of the new session of the Delaware General Assembly, a committee has passed a bill that would make it a felony to sell untaxed cigarettes in Delaware. Current law sets a maximum penalty of $1,000 and 90 days in jail for selling untaxed smokes—supporters of the change say that just a slap on the wrist for smugglers who sell black market cigarettes bought in low tax states and later sold in states with higher taxes