Persinger, Riordan Win Dewey Beach Election



The 2016 Dewey Beach election season ended tonight with the election of Gary Persinger, right, and incumbent Commissioner Courtney Riordan.  They received 364 and 357 votes, respectively, and will be the town’s two commissioners for the next term.

Comm. Gary Mauler finished in third place with 158 votes.


Beverly Corelle of the Dewey Beach Board of Elections presented the results at 6:37 p.m. Saturday.


This is Mayor Diane Hanson’s 10th straight year of selecting winning candidates for the town council.  She had endorsed both winners.