223rd CEIT Academy Graduates New Correctional Employees

Image courtesy DOC

The Department of Correction has graduated 21 members of the Correctional Employee Initial Training Academy.  They have been assigned to work in the DOC after completing 10 weeks of training – including hands-on and classroom sessions in a multitude of capacities.  The graduates include 18 Correctional officers, one correctional counselor and 2 food service specialists.

Commissioner Perry Phelps commended the graduates and provided words of encouragement as they begin their law enforcement career. “Remember that with the badge comes a significant amount of responsibility and you will be held to a higher standard than most. Carry yourself with integrity, dignity and pride. Be a role model and a positive example.”

The instruction team for CEIT Class #223 consisted of Primary Instructor Dean Edge, Instructor Joseph Sheridan, and Drill Instructors Amos Callaway, Timothy Turner, and Vincent Lewis.  A photo of today’s graduates is attached. Seated in the front row are: DOC Commissioner Perry Phelps, Instructor Joseph Sheridan, Primary Instructor Dean Edge, and Deputy Bureau Chief of Prisons Robert May.

An alphabetical list of graduating cadets is below:
Leandrew Baillum
Joshua Betts
Jessica Brawner
Andrew Dennison
Ronell Farrow
Marshall Hobbs
Gary Jones
Rodney Jones
Todd Koch
Jeffery Koller II
Strovenscolv Larochelle
Alexander Mitan
Matthew Mucha
Justin Nemeth
Sigourney Patterson
Ryann Schafer
Chavonne Shepard
Monica Tyler
Curtis Walker
Sarah Wells
Tanisha Whitley