UPDATED: DE School Board Election Results


UPDATED – 05/14/24 – School Board elections were held throughout Delaware on Tuesday. In Sussex County, three districts had contested races – all for 4-year terms.

County Election Director Bo McDowell tells the Talk of Delmarva that voter turnout was very low. He said there was a bad internet connection at the polling location at Indian River High School but the issue was resolved by calling the main office to check on voters districts prior to letting them vote.

A report of a voter being turned away was investigated. Election officials went to the voter’s home to see if they could take them to the polling location and learned the person had not been there to vote.

In the Indian River School District Anita West-Werner was the winner with 492 votes to 343 for Joshua Hudson.

In the Delmar School District, Russell Smart won the election for the at-large seat with 385 votes. Dawn Turner received 178.

Three candidates ran for the at-large seat in the Woodbridge School District. John Campbell topped the votes with 401, followed by Brian Swain with 231 and Kristie Thomas with 52.


ORIGINAL STORY – 05/13/24 – School Board Elections will take place throughout Delaware on Tuesday. There are several contested races in Sussex County.

Indian River School District – District 4 is the only contested race – between Joshua Hudson and Anita West-Werner. Dr. Donald Hattier did not run for re-election. Voters can vote at the Indian River High School or the Millville Community Center.

Delmar School District – two candidates for the at large seat – Russell Smart and Dawn Turner. Incumbent William Mills did not run for re-election. Voting will take place at Delmar High School and 3C USA Church

Woodbridge School District voters have three candidates for an open at-large seat. Brian Swain, John Campbell and Kristie Thomas are running for the seat being vacated by Steve McCarron who is running for a seat on the Sussex County Council. Vote at Woodbridge Middle School or Woodbridge Early Childhood Education Center.

There are no school board elections in Milford, Cape Henlopen, Laurel or Seaford.

The polls are open from 7am till 8pm