Incumbents Win in Close Dewey Beach Commissioner Race!


Another hotly contested Dewey Beach municipal campaign season came to an end today when the polls closed at 6 p.m. Ironically, the United Nations had declared Sept. 21 as the International Day of Peace.

The winners in Dewey Beach are: Comm. Dale Cooke, Mayor TJ Redefer and Comm. Paul Bauer. Comm. Cooke was the top vote-getter. The other three candidates finished within a thin spread of only nine votes!

Only the four candidates had filed to run for the three commissioner seats.

Dewey Beach Commissioner Paul Bauer, Commissioner Dale Cooke, Mayor TJ Redefer, Philip Rowe. Image courtesy WGMD/Alan Henney and/or the candidates.

Comm. Paul Bauer received 364 votes.

Comm. Dale Cooke received 414 votes.

Mayor TJ Redefer received 367 votes.

Newcomer Philip Rowe received 358 votes.

Dewey Beach election totals for 2019.

The winners will be sworn into office at 10 a.m. on Saturday, Sept. 28.