Rehoboth-Dewey Chamber Names Ray Jones Volunteer of the Year

Cheryl Blackman – Cheryl Blackman Volunteer of the Year Award: Chairwoman of the Board Carrie Lingo and Ray Jones Photo: RBDBCC

The Rehoboth Beach-Dewey Beach Chamber of Commerce held it’s annual Awards and Installation Banquet earlier this month. This year is the first time the new Cheryl Blackman Volunteer of the Year award was given – and the first winner – Ray Jones. Chamber officials say Jones has dedicated his time for Sea Witch weekend – helping with parade registration, becoming Monster Policeman and doing whatever else was needed – and always smiling.

RBDBCC Board Member Mike Meoli, Julie Hudson, and Christian Hudson Photo: RBDBCC

The Mae Hall McCabe Award is a distinguished award given to a citizen or citizens who exemplify community service and is sponsored annually by the Chamber. The award was established in 1977 in memory of the late Mae Hall McCabe by her great-nephew Joseph B. Hill. Ms. McCabe opened her real estate office in 1937 on Rehoboth Avenue and contributed to the needs and causes of the Rehoboth Beach area for more than 50 years. She most notably helped organize the Rehoboth Beach Chamber of Commerce and was later elected its’ President, and the first woman to hold that office for any Delaware Chamber.

The Rehoboth Beach-Dewey Beach Chamber of Commerce sponsors this award to recognize those individuals whose tireless commitment to community service leads to the betterment of the Rehoboth Beach and Dewey Beach areas. When considering a recipient, the selection committee considers several criteria including a candidates’ history of commendable volunteerism, sustained commitment to community service, and meaningful altruistic efforts for the good and welfare of the community while usually receiving little or no remuneration for their sacrifice and dedication.

On the following page are comments made by RBDBCC Board member Mike Meoli during the presentation to Christian & Julie Hudson.

L-R: RBDBCC Bord Member Dale Lomas; Beebe Healthcare members Kara Back, Shannon Hager, Lindsey Atkins, Mickey Perez, Sintia Rodriguez and Bill Chasanov Photo RBDBCC

The Rehoboth Beach-Dewey Beach Chamber of Commerce began honoring a member business with the Business of the Year
Award in 1997. The selection committee considers several criteria in choosing a recipient. Most notably, commitment to the
community through in-kind services, volunteerism and/or donations (monetary contributions being of least importance) and the
business must demonstrate excellence in operation ethics.

The following is an excerpt of comments written by RBDBCC Board member Chris Weeks & presented by RBDBCC Board member Dale Lomas during the presentation to Beebe Healthcare:

“Fortunately, the community appears to have survived an unprecedented global pandemic over the last year plus, in large part to
the performance of the Beebe Healthcare Team. It is important to note that in the early stages of the pandemic, Beebe was
transitioning to a new President/CEO, Dr. David Tam, whose tenure started on March 17, 2020. Quite a way to begin a new job
in a new town. Dr. Tam quickly engaged his team and got to work coordinating the organizations efforts to meet the needs of
our community.