UPDATE: School Board Election Results – 5 Sussex Races in 4 Districts


Election results:

Delaware School Board Election Results are in, following a vote in several contested races Tuesday.

In Cape Henlopen, Janis Hanwell defeated Ashley Murray, 3,108 to 1,212.

Delmar School District voters elected Dawn Turner and incumbent Farrah Morelli to at-large positions.

In Laurel, David Nichols won by just seven votes over two other candidates.

Margaret “Elaine” Gallant defeated incumbent Danielle Taylor in the Woodbridge School district, 376-346.

There was no election in the Indian River School District, and there were uncontested races in Seaford and Milford.

For election results, please CLICK HERE

(original story and ballot)

School board elections take place Tuesday statewide in Delaware. The polls are open from 7am to 8p. There is one at-large seat up for election in the Cape Henlopen School District – incumbent Janis Hanwell is challenged by Ashley Murray for the at-large seat.

In the Delmar School District two candidates – Dawn Turner and Russell Smart – have filed for an at-large seat that will fill the remainder of the term held by Shawn Brittingham that expires in 2023. Brittingham resigned from the Delmar School Board after he was confirmed to the Delaware State Board of Education on January 19th. Incumbent Farrah Morelli is challenged by Lawrence Sinagra and Carol Ann Harrington for a second at-large seat that expires in 2026.

Three candidates are vying for the at large seat in Laurel – David Nichols, Ivy Bonk and Joseph Deiter are looking to take the seat being vacated by Shane McCarty.

And in Woodbridge incumbent Danielle Taylor is challenged by Margaret β€œElaine” Gallant.

There is no election this year in the Indian River School District.

In Seaford incumbent Kimberly Hopkins is the only candidate filed for election.

In Milford, which is run by the Kent County Department of Elections, two seats are up for election – Adam Brownstein has filed for the Area C seat, which is being vacated by Renata Wiley. And in Area D, Scott Fitzgerald is running for the remainder of the term vacated by Judy Purcell earlier this year. While Fitzgerald was appointed to the seat – that expires in June – and he has to be elected to fill the remainder of the term, which ends in 2022. As these races are uncontested – they will begin their new terms on July 1st.