UPDATED: South Bethany Voters Elect 3 to Town Council Saturday


UPDATED: 5/30/21 8:30am: The unofficial results of Saturday’s municipal election in South Bethany return incumbent Richard Oliver to the town Council. He was the top vote-getter with 468 votes, followed by William Tim Shaw with 442 votes and Edith Dondero with 369 votes. Mayor Tim Saxton tells WGMD that about 600 voters turned out for the election, however the election still has to be confirmed by the Town Board of Elections. The Council will hold its organizational meeting on Friday, June 4th at 10am.

Unofficial Results:

Richard Oliver – 468 votes

William Tim Shaw – 442 votes

Edith Dondero – 369 votes

Carolyn Bell – 307 votes

Maureen Webster – 125 votes


South Bethany voters go to the polls Saturday to elect 3 to the town council. Incumbent Richard Oliver is challenged by Carolyn Bell, William Tim Shaw, Edith Dondero and Maureen Webster. Bell, Oliver and Shaw are all residents – and one of the three who are elected must be a resident. Dondero and Webster are non-residents. Current council members Carol Stevenson and Frank Weisgerber did not run for re-election. Each seat is a two-year term. The polls are open Saturday from 9 to 3pm.