Seaford’s Dana Bowe Named DE 2019 Teacher of the Year

Delaware’s 2019 Teacher of the Year was named last night and she comes from Sussex County! Dana Bowe teaches kindergarten through second grade for the Sussex County Orthopedic Program at West Seaford Elementary School, and is now Delaware’s nominee for National Teacher of the Year, a title she hopes will allow her to share her message about all children’s abilities. Bowe has been teaching for 17 years – 5 in her current position.

By action of the Delaware General Assembly, Bowe will receive a $5,000 grant to use for the educational benefit of her students, as well two personal grants totaling an additional $5,000. The remaining 19 school district/charter candidates each will receive a personal grant of $2,000. All 20 teachers also receive a gift from Advantech Incorporated.

Bowe also will receive: a $1,000 grant for educational/classroom use from American Institutes for Research; grants from the Delaware Association of School Administrators, Delaware State Education Association and the Delaware State Chamber of Commerce; a State of Delaware Teacher of the Year commemorative plate from the Division of Motor Vehicles; a full doctorate program from University of Delaware and Wilmington University and several other awards.