Mayor’s Seat Only Contested Race in Laurel Election

Voters in Laurel will be voting for a Mayor on March 23rd. Mark Sikora has filed to run against incumbent John Shwed for Mayor. There were three council seats up for election. Incumbents Cheryl Martin and Phillip Calio were the only candidates to file for the Ward 4 and At-Large seats. Randy Lee did not…

Read More

Update: Mayor Of Laurel Re-elected


Laurel voters have re-elected Mayor John Schwed, and Donald Holden has won an at-large seat on council. In Thursday’s election, Shwed topped Mark Sikora, 80-63. Holden was the winner over Denise Mackey, 102-38. Laurel Council members Robin Fisher and Jonathan Kellen Senior were unopposed.

Read More