Mayor’s Seat Only Contested Race in Laurel Election


Voters in Laurel will be voting for a Mayor on March 23rd. Mark Sikora has filed to run against incumbent John Shwed for Mayor. There were three council seats up for election. Incumbents Cheryl Martin and Phillip Calio were the only candidates to file for the Ward 4 and At-Large seats. Randy Lee did not run for re-election in Ward 1 and Carlos Oliveras was the only candidate to file for that seat. There is still time to register to vote in the March election – voter registration will close Thursday, February 23 – at the Department of Election in Georgetown. Laurel’s election will take place Saturday, March 23 from 1 to 8pm at the Laurel Fire Department meeting room.