Finalists Named for Delaware’s 2020 Teacher of the Year

Twenty Delaware teachers have been named finalist for the state’s 2020 Teacher of the Year title.

The finalists were selected from among the 9,000 public school teachers in the state, with the main requirements being the ability to inspire students with a love of learning, demonstration of professional traits and devotion to teaching.

Below is a list of the local finalists:

Caesar Rodney         Sabra Collins                        Caesar Rodney High          Physical education

Cape Henlopen          Brennan Clarke                    Shields Elementary             English as a second language

Capital                       Erica Richard                        East Dover Elementary       K-4 mathematics specialist

Delmar                       Donna Huston                      Delmar High                         English language arts

Indian River              Arthur Henry                         Millsboro Middle                   Music (band)

Laurel                         Donna Sava                          Laurel Elementary               1st grade

Milford                        Jaime Hill                              Morris Elementary               Kindergarten

Seaford                      Laura Burke                          Central Elementary              3rd grade

Sussex Tech             Dontez Collins                      Sussex Tech High               Mathematics

Woodbridge              Stephanie Vodvarka            Wheatley Elementary          4th grade