Georgetown Recognizes Arbor Day with Proclamation


At this week’s Regular Town Council Meeting, Mayor Bill West signed a Proclamation recognizing the week of April 21st – 27th, 2024 as Georgetown Arbor Week and established Friday, April 26th, 2024 as Georgetown Arbor Day. Mayor West says as the community grows, it is important to recognize the value trees bring to Georgetown–adding that…

Read More

Saturday Is Election Day In Georgetown, Lewes


Voters in two Sussex County communities will head to the polls this Saturday. -Three candidates seek to serve a three-year term as Mayor of Lewes in Saturday’s election.Incumbent Ted Becker is being challenged by Deputy Mayor Andrew Williams and Richard Moore.Votes may be cast at Lewes City Hall on East Third Street between 8:00 a.m.…

Read More

Georgetown Makes Strides In Financial Transparency Online


The Town of Georgetown is developing a new online feature that offers easy-to-interpret financial data and other insights into town operations. Georgetown is working with ClearGov, an online budgeting and communications software company that serves local governments, to create the new Transparency Center. “We are proud to have taken this proactive step toward a more…

Read More

Georgetown Offers Crime-Mapping Feature For Community


Citizens of Georgetown are now able to track local crime trends online. Town officials have introduced a new online crime mapping program at Several other Delaware municipalities including Milford, Dover and Wilmington also have such information available online. “This is one additional means for the Town to help keep the public informed,” Georgetown Mayor…

Read More

Barrett Wins Ward 4 Seat in Georgetown

Georgetown Town Hall Image © WGMD/ML

Challenger Penuel Barrett defeated incumbent Robert Holston for the 4th Ward seat in Georgetown.  Barrett received 211 votes to Holston’s 184 votes.  Barrett will serve a 2-year term along with Angela Townsend who was the only candidate to file for the 3rd Ward seat.  Mayor Bill West was unopposed and will serve another 2-year term.

Read More