Saturday was not a good fishing day with high winds that had gale warnings and small craft advisories up for the bay and ocean.
Every week I receive the police blotter for the DNREC enforcement officers. Almost all these arrest reports contain tickets written for folks fishing without a license. Fishing licenses have been required for all Delaware anglers between 16 and 65 for many years. I don’t understand how anyone could think they don’t need a license or decides to take a chance they won’t be caught. Is that really worth the $12.50 for a resident license or $20 for a non-resident license?
The other violation that I don’t understand is allowing a child under 12 to be on a boat without a PFD. Back in the day I was part of a movement to get this law on the books after we lost two children in a boating accident at Indian River Inlet. Believe it or not, we had opposition in the Delaware Legislature and it took two years to get the law passed. I have no idea how many lives have been saved, but I know it was worth the effort.
This is Eric Burnley with your WGMD Fishing Report.